Rejected 30% discount request for MTPE
Thread poster: S. D.
S. D.
S. D.
United States
Local time: 17:26
English to Japanese
Jul 26

Hi to everyone here. I hope you all are enjoying summer! I just want to share what happened today with my translation agency, which I have been working for about 9 years.

The projects that I receive from this agency are for this big e-commerce company that everyone knows. We are required to strictly follow their detailed 30+pages of Style Guide that I also helped them to finalize. Term Base is available, but some terms have multiple translations, so we are required to ‘think’ w
... See more
Hi to everyone here. I hope you all are enjoying summer! I just want to share what happened today with my translation agency, which I have been working for about 9 years.

The projects that I receive from this agency are for this big e-commerce company that everyone knows. We are required to strictly follow their detailed 30+pages of Style Guide that I also helped them to finalize. Term Base is available, but some terms have multiple translations, so we are required to ‘think’ which one to apply depending on context. Some terms are not appropriate to use in some context. To meet their high standards of quality, I have been trying very hard to pay attention to details all the time and became the lead linguist for my language pair, English to Japanese. I was also evaluating the new linguists’ test translation and attending the meeting with the client. I believe I became a great asset to this agency to keep this big e-commerce company’s business.