Thread poster: HankHill
HankHill
HankHill
United States
Local time: 01:31
Japanese to English
+ ...
Jan 22, 2009

I did a small job and was asked to send an invoice for payment, so I sent one through paypal. I am new to actually using paypal for getting paid, so I am confused at my current situation. The client keeps saying they need an invoice number, but I'm unclear on what that is exactly. After a few emails, I was told it's a "consecutive number". I will quote the email exactly:

"The thing that I need is basically a normal invoice – like you would send to other clients regardless of form
... See more
I did a small job and was asked to send an invoice for payment, so I sent one through paypal. I am new to actually using paypal for getting paid, so I am confused at my current situation. The client keeps saying they need an invoice number, but I'm unclear on what that is exactly. After a few emails, I was told it's a "consecutive number". I will quote the email exactly:

"The thing that I need is basically a normal invoice – like you would send to other clients regardless of form of payment. Usually our other translators just send the invoice in pdf and write that they want payment via PayPal. The invoice number is necessary for book-keeping reasons. It is just a consecutive number on the invoices that makes it possible to identify each invoice in our system. "

I am really at a loss here. I'm hoping I'm not annoying the client here by going back and forth with emails, but I just do not understand what this is. Even with this info, I'm lost. Consecutive of what exactly? Am I supposed to make a number that's consecutive of the amount of invoices I've sent previously to this client, which means in this case I just put a 1?

I don't want to hold this up any longer so I'm hoping someone here can shed light on this. Thanks.
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 10:31
English to German
+ ...