Translators - Translator Resources
ProZ.com global directory of translation services
 The translation workplace

If you want to get paid....




 


User
Thread poster: Miguel Garcia Uriburu
If you want to get paid....

Miguel Garcia Uriburu  Identity Verified
Spain
 Member (2002)

English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 18

...don't accept jobs offered by an individual that writes from a Egyptian IP adress even though he/she purports to live and work in Amsterdam (fake adresses and phones, checked)...the e-mail adress is linda.john70@yahoo.com and besides me, she/he's swindled three or four other colleagues, in the USA, in Turkey, Russia and France, all these cases confirmed by the interested parties.

Direct link   Reply with quote
 

Miguel Garcia Uriburu  Identity Verified
Spain
 Member (2002)

English to Spanish
+ ...
Thank you, Roy!!! Jul 18

I checked the Blue Board Entry and the modus operandi is exactly the same...it's almost certain we are talking about the same person...he/she obviously is, now, trying to do business with translators located in Europe, the USA and latin America, in the ENG/SPA, SPA/ENG language pairs, and he/she has changed her e-mail adress and uses a fake name.

So, colleagues and friends, beware!!! I've warned, through private e-mails, all my contacts, and contacted (denouncing her) the Illinois official institution whose files he/she had me translating during a whole week end, so that, at least, he/she can't do any more harm.

One more fact, after he/she was eliminated from Proz.com's outsourcers database, as recorded in the links to the Blue Board Entry, she apparently has pried into another site, TranslatorsCafé, where she already is receiving bad notes and being included in what they call the "Hall of Shame".


Direct link   Reply with quote
 

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
 Member (2003)

English to German
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Not (necessarily) the same Jul 18

Hi all,
Please note that the forum is not the right place to discuss outsourcers (positive or negative).

Miguel, if you like, contact a Jobs/BB moderator, or submit a Support Request to ProZ.com staff - we would like to take a look at the IP headers of the message(s) you received.

Best regards,
Ralf


Direct link   Reply with quote
 

Miguel Garcia Uriburu  Identity Verified
Spain
 Member (2002)

English to Spanish
+ ...
OK. Jul 18

Thank you, Ralf.

I am not accustomed to have my words counter checked, so end of the story.

Enjoy your week-end.


Direct link   Reply with quote
 

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
 Member (2003)

English to German
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Misunderstanding? Jul 18

Hi again, Miguel,


Thank you, Ralf.

I am not accustomed to have my words counter checked, so end of the story.

I guess you may have misunderstood me. Header data will allow site staff to try and trace fraudulent activity - for example, there might be other guises.

But of course, this is your decision entirely.

Best regards,
Ralf


Direct link   Reply with quote
 

Miguel Garcia Uriburu  Identity Verified
Spain
 Member (2002)

English to Spanish
+ ...
Yes, misunderstanding. Jul 18

Hello Ralf,

No need to go further, and thank you for your clarifying comments; and since the person in question is to all practical purposes a gangster, changing adresses from Egypt to Amsterdam and so on all the time, no need to go any further. I was only trying to warn everybody....I am not interested in discussing the person as such.

Kind regards, and, again, enjoy your week end.

Mike.

[Edited at 2008-07-18 15:52]


Direct link   Reply with quote
 

Taña Dalglish
Jamaica

English to Spanish
+ ...
Forgive me, but what then is the correct forum? Jul 18

Ralf, I don't think Miguel's posting was intended to criticize any outsourcer, whether positive or negative, but was merely a warning to others and perhaps could be looked at in that light.

If all checks possible (through many different sources) have been already been done to determine validity etc., would it not be counterproductive or a duplication of efforts? What more could be done on the part of ProZ.com to determine that they are indeed false names, addresses, etc.

With kindest regards.

Taña

[Edited at 2008-07-18 16:16]


Direct link   Reply with quote
 

Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
 Member (2003)

English to German
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Blue Board Jul 18

Hi Taña,


Ralf, I don't think Miguel's posting was intended to criticize any outsourcer, whether positive or negative, but was merely a warning to others and perhaps could be looked at in that light.

Most certainly - you may have missed another posting identifying an outsourcer by direct reference to a Blue Board record. The BB is the right place for such an exchange of information.


If all checks possible (through many different sources) have been already been done to determine validity etc., would it not be counterproductive or a duplication of efforts? What more could be done on the part of ProZ.com to determine that they are indeed false names, addresses, etc.

I was not referring to names etc.; without going into too much technical detail, the data accompanying e-mails could be used by ProZ.com staff to check for site activity.

Best regards,
Ralf


Direct link   Reply with quote
 

Taña Dalglish
Jamaica

English to Spanish
+ ...
Thanks Ralf Jul 18

Dear Ralf:

Thank you for your clarification.

You quoted: you may have missed another posting identifying an outsourcer by direct reference to a Blue Board record unqote. I must say that I did not know of its existence. Thank you.

Regards

Taña

[Edited at 2008-07-19 13:59]


Direct link   Reply with quote
 


Moderators of this forum
Ralf Lemster[Call to this topic]



Recent posts | FAQ | Rules | Moderators | Article knowledgebase
Copyright © 1999-2008 ProZ.com - All rights reserved. Privacy policy    Print page