Am I entitled to unlimited version?
Thread poster: Philip Lees
Philip Lees
Philip Lees  Identity Verified
Greece
Local time: 16:56
Greek to English
Dec 21, 2022

About two weeks ago I updated to CafeTran 11.2.3 Eclair, after some difficulty, and now the program has started throwing up error messages about limits to my use of the software.

To complete the update successfully, I had to link CafeTran to my ProZ membership, which I did.

However, the "About" screen shows that CafeTran is licensed to "ProZ.com Standard Member", even though I am a professional member. I thought that gave me a full subscription to unlimited use of CafeT
... See more
About two weeks ago I updated to CafeTran 11.2.3 Eclair, after some difficulty, and now the program has started throwing up error messages about limits to my use of the software.

To complete the update successfully, I had to link CafeTran to my ProZ membership, which I did.

However, the "About" screen shows that CafeTran is licensed to "ProZ.com Standard Member", even though I am a professional member. I thought that gave me a full subscription to unlimited use of CafeTran. Is that not right?

Why has this happened and what can I do about it? I am using CafeTran on Windows 10.

All suggestions gratefully received.
Collapse

Hans Lenting
Hans Lenting
Netherlands
Member (2006)
German to Dutch
Plus Package Dec 21, 2022

Hi Philip,

During the pandemic in the western world, CafeTran could be used with a normal Proz license.

Now you’ll need the Plus Package:

https://www.proz.com/about-plus-package#about-release

Last year there was this offer:

531E5785-5A35-41CD-9505-4421A214AE4D

Perhaps they will have an offer this year too?

Else you’re probably better off buying a license via CafeTran.com.

Edit: Looks like it:

https://go.proz.com/2022

The advantage of the Plus membership is that you can activate CafeTran on a new computer right away. No need to contact support.